Zero Mature Health, Reviews

Food Label
Write a review.

I have been using your Zero Mature food since my diabetic cat was diagnosed 13 years ago. He is now gone. He had been diet controlled with your food for years and died of old age. I kept using the Zero Mature food because my cats were all doing so well on it. I just got back from the vet for a wellness check for Trout, my fifteen year old sassy tortie. He was absolutely amazed at how good she's doing and how much muscle she still has at her senior age. He asked what I was feeding her. I told him about your food and how I switch to it for Rocky and after he died of old age, I just kept feeding it. He said it must be amazing because Trout is doing so well. He asked where I get it. She is going back in a couple of weeks for a dental. Do you have some literature about your food and company that I could bring to that visit to show him. I don't usually advertise companies, but your food is truly amazing. I reminded him that when Rocky had to be hospitalized, they fed him their RX vet diabetic formula and his glucose shot up to 700. All 6 of my cats continue to do great on the Zero Mature and I'd like to share any information you have with my veterinarian.

Janice Keck, 4/21/2024


Like others, I found Young Again cat food while searching for a reduced phosphorous option for a senior cat with early CKD. Sassy is 15 at the youngest (I found her on the street so her age is a guess) and while she has always been healthy and well hydrated, age does catch up with all animals eventually and she was diagnosed with very mild, early-onset CKD about a year ago. She also has hyperthyroidism, and between these two conditions she was rapidly losing weight, even with medication. Since switching her wet food to a low phosphorus option and her dry food to Young Again Zero Mature, she is back to a healthy weight and her conditions have not progressed at all. She loves the taste and it's quite affordable for the quantity and quality. No complaints. Thanks for making a great product and keeping my little buddy healthy!

Xan and Sassy, 3/4/2024


I have to express my deepest and sincerest thanks. About a year and a half ago my cat was diagnosed with diabetes while undergoing treatment for a stone in his bladder. I struggled maintaining his blood sugar levels, nothing seemed to work he was up to 7 ccs of insulin twice a day and barely dropping below 300. Then I had a couple scare incidents where he was dropping below 50. I realized that those were days that he was eating less. He was on a special food for urinary crystals, And I learned that was 27% carbs. First, I switched him to a much lower carb kibble, (he abhors wet food and will starve himself for 3 days rather than eat it, and then only enough to curb his hunger) and that helped, but your kibble has really brought him back to life. Since he has been on your Zero Mature recipe, it is like my 10-year-old little man is ... well ... Young again! I spent over a year barely seeing him and him having difficulty even walking developing ataxia in his hind legs. Now he is back to annoying me at all hours, running around the house, jumping up on the sofa and tables, I might have to get him a cat tree again soon! Thank you so much for everything that you do! Thank you so much for bringing life back to my baby boy!

Julie Corrigan, 1/15/2024


Our cat Colby was diagnosed with diabetes. He was placed on insulin injections and was also having severe diabetic neuropathy. He could barely walk on his hind legs. The vet recommended a zero carb diet of wet foods. He was so picky! No matter what we tried he wouldn’t touch it. I found this thru an internet search for dry food. I called the people at YA to see if I could get a sample and they said no problem. He loves it! He’s been on it about 3 weeks now and absolutely loves it. No more pain meds, insulin down to 1 IU. He’s acting like he did when he was half this age. Thanks again YA!

Bill Gladson, 12/17/2023


My male cat Smokey (Mo-Mo) was getting too heavy for his size but he loves his "crunchie" food, and eliminating dry kibbles from his diet was going to be a dilemma since I find it hard to tell him "no" (needless to say, he is so spoiled). However, my vet suggested Young Again Zero Mature to help him lose weight while still getting his "crunchies". I knew my vet's suggestion of was important to his over-all health and well-being and I tried it. Moving forward, all three cats, including his mom, Snowy and his sister, Nellie simply love eating Young Again Zero Mature. And, their transition of switching dry food brands was super easy. They, now, have been eating it for a two months and seeing Mo-Mo lose weight and still have his "crunchies" makes me a very happy Hu-MOM and a loyal customer.

Veronica Jackson, 12/5/2023


I just want to say thank you. My cat is newly diabetic and for two weeks we fought to find anything he would eat that fell into the vets approved category. We could not get him to eat a single wet food. The vet finally directed us to your mature zero. He loves it. His blood sugar is down 300 points. He is playing with toys and prancing around the house like he owns it. Thank you so much for the work you're doing! My Zeus hasn't been this energetic or happy in months. Again, thank you. You saved him.

Jenifer, 11/13/2023


Long Review :-) I have waited a full 30 days since receiving my first bag to share my experiences. All 7 of my cats from 4 to 13 just was not doing good and one was in terrible shape no matter what I fed and knew he had diabetes and dreading the shots to come then the others had either thick dandruff & greasy coats or both . They were on a top premium dry food XXXXXX that always smelled rotten and XXXXX can food at night and still they looked horrible so I went on a limb and I ordered Zero Mature . The first 2 weeks where rough on everyone .Squeak with the diabetes looked like his days were numbered and diarrhea was gagging from of all of them as their systems cleaned and balanced and I added in drained water packed tuna 1 can twice a day between them all due to the massive weight loss but no one refused the zero mature and it smelled clean and fresh and wonderful and within days the diarrhea started to clear up then going into week 3 Squeak started forming normal poop instead of off and on diarrhea and now all the coats are looking amazing . The short haired cats are completely free of dandruff and look like mini panthers and the long haired ones ...wow ...the greasy coats are 80% better and Squeak actually is coming into the living room for cuddles . My cats look and feel excellent just in 30 days even mama cat at 13 is blasting around the house again she has 4 - 12 year old babies :-) that she can out play them now . To say I am amazed and thankful is a understatement .The shedding has become almost null and when I brush them its not hand fulls anymore and bright eyes and talking to me and OMG and no puke every morning anymore and hairballs are once in a while .I will work them off the Tuna next month but for now with the dramatic weight loss I thought they needed a little more and most were very overweight it's been a learning curve .I'll end up saving money once I discontinue the Tuna next month so it seems high at first but when you work out the budget its still expensive but the benefits are 100% worth it.I'll update this wonderful journey at Christmas .Take a leap and put your animals on Young Again . THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!! For an amazing and true carnivore diet for my cats.

Joyce Mosher, 10/22/2023


This food is keeping my cat in diabetic remission. She was diagnosed June 1, off insulin since June 15 and this food has been a lifesaver. She is no longer obese, my other cat is also interested in this food. So for right now, everything has been really good. Both cats tolerating and this is not affecting the blood glucose in any bad way. Her blood sugars have been consistently in the 90s. Very grateful for the cat diabetes support Facebook page highly recommending this food.

Barbara B, 10/21/2023


My kitty was diabetic for 18 months. Got her on low carb wet food, but she missed the crunch from her dry food. I now supplement her with Young Again Zero and she loves it, and has also been in diabetic remission for 10 months. My non diabetic kitty will only eat dry food and she loves the Young Again and although she’s almost 11, she acts like a crazy kitten.

Carol Carsten, 8/6/2023


I first found Young Again Zero Mature after extensive research to help our cat with kidney disease. This had lower phosphorous plus much better ingredients and nutrition than most of the prescription foods! It was a huge bonus that our other two cats could also eat it and all three liked it from day one. Free feeding allowed our sick kitty to eat whenever she felt like it, which helped her re-gain some of the weight she'd lost in the initial kidney failure crisis. Our other female cat gradually lost the extra 2 lbs she was lugging around and just had an excellent check-up at the vet! Our male cat has maintained a healthy weight. Though we inevitably had to say goodbye to our cat who had kidney disease, we took comfort knowing she had the best possible final months, including being able to enjoy food she actually liked. It's a silver lining that her condition led us to this food that I hope will help our other cats, now about 12 years old, stay as healthy as possible for as long as possible. For the record, we were previously feeding a high-quality dry food from a very well-regarded brand recommended by our vet, so the improvements in our healthy adult cats are an especially strong testament that Young Again is doing something really special!

Chrissy, 8/4/2023


I cannot speak highly enough about this food!! My cat was diagnosed with feline diabetes earlier this year. His glucose in the beginning was anywhere between 500-600 but in the beginning was high 600’s. His vet put him on insulin and the journey began. We went through two insulins before we got to the very last insulin that we could try. Nothing would bring his glucose to normal levels. We even switched him to the prescription diet. I won’t name which one it is, but we tried all three with no success, he didn’t like them. His insulin was still high even with the insulin and the food he was getting injected twice a day and he was on 4 mm 2x daily. I was pretty much at my wits end and so is he until I seen someone on the Internet name Mallory she’s from all about cats and she had mentioned this food. So I decided to look them up and give them a try and I could not be any happier! My cats love it and I took him in for his bloodwork today and he is normal. He’s at a 98 he does not require any more insulin and no more prescription foods. I will never go back, thank you so much young again!

Ashlea, 6/30/2023


Outstanding product and customer support. My Vet was concerned for my Persian kitten's weight (almost 15 pounds at 18 months on dry food), and recommended this company. Frodo not only dropped the extra pounds, but is more active, alert, and his fur feels more silky. thank you!

Jan K., 6/11/2023


When my 13 yr. old Maine Coon was diagnosed with diabetes in March '23, I was overwhelmed at the prospect of caring for a diabetic cat. I'm 76 years old and care for 10 cats by myself. After much research I found Young Again and read the testimonials, but fear and skepticism caused me to wonder if remission could really be possible. I immediately ordered the Zero Mature food to give it a try. There were many challenges during the brief period of blood testing and adjusting insulin doses, but the additional support I received from Jennifer and Michael(owner) at Young Again was priceless to me while I struggled. I am elated to report that after 3 weeks of free feeding all 10 of my cats on this miraculous food, my diabetic cat has gone into complete remission! His glucose numbers are now down from the 400's to consistently reading in the 70's - 90's. INCREDIBLE!!! I cannot thank Young Again Pet Food enough for saving my beloved Tux from having to suffer with diabetes and a shortened life. Carol Zuccarini

Carol Zuccarini, 5/18/2023


This is the food you need for your diabetic cat (and all his furry friends)! My vet recommended this food after success stories with another client. Gus’s numbers have never been lower! He was ranging 400-500 before switching to YA. Now he is 125-375, and there have been 2 mornings he did not need insulin. You’ll be asking the question, “How low is too low to give insulin?” with this food! Our other 8 non-diabetic cats also eat this, and they are looking healthier than ever! 50 pounds of food has lasted us 2 months. We were buying 20-lb bags weekly(80 lbs per month). I highly recommend YA for all your fur babies!

Britleigh, 5/3/2023


October 2021 my 12 yr old Ragdoll Joey was diagnosed with diabetes. His glucose was high and started on insulin twice a day. My Vet said he never had a diet change help a cat off insulin. I researched diabetic cat foods and discovered Young Again. It's worth every dollar! Within 2 weeks he had normal sugars and was off insulin. It's been 17 months, he's active has lost a little weight but was a bit overweight to start. He also loves the treats! Only negative thing is smelly stool once a day, you need to clean the litterbox Asap. Thank You YoungAgain

Young Again note: Smelly stool can be caused by over consumption and can be resolved.  We are happy to help you!  

 

Jennifer Fauteux, 4/28/2023


Our 10 year old cat was diagnosed in December with diabetes. We spent 3 months with his sugars up and down but, mostly up. He'd developed plantigrade and couldn't get up on couches or beds without assistance. I heard about this food in a diabetic cat Facebook group and cage to three sure. The reviews were glowing so, I bought a small bag. We give him a small scoop with about a third of a can of pate, within 2 weeks his numbers have dropped significantly and he's not had need of insulin in 2 days. And today, he jumped up onto the couch by himself. I couldn't be more pleased.

Tori, 3/26/2023


I am really grateful I found this site as I started ordering this food for my newly diagnosed diabetic 13 year old cat, Marley. After switching his dry food to this(I also am free feeding to my other 3 cats too), about 3 months ago, I can now say he is in remission and hasn't had any insulin in 4 weeks!! His blood glucose readings have been around 131 to 159 in the morning with NO insulin at all! Thank you so much!

Donna Gionet, 3/14/2023


Wow. This food is a diabetic cat moms dream come true. We have four cats (ages 4yo-11yo), and one of them was diagnosed with diabetes about a year ago. We initially tried “keto kibble” but its insanely expensive and the use of beet fiber makes the kibble so hard one of my cats couldn’t chew it (and would just barf the pieces up whole). We tried switching to a good (but not necessarily diabetes friendly kibble) hoping that if we got our diabetic cat to fill up on carbohydrate free canned food he would more or less leave the other cats kibble alone because we have always free fed kibble (nope, that lead to him almost dying of ketoacidosis because we could not keep his blood sugar under control). I heard about youngagain in a group on facebook, and thought I would give it a try. I am so glad I did! All four of my cats took to it immediately. Within 24 hours my diabetic cats blood sugar was at 286 with no insulin (usually he would be well above 600 with no insulin which is scary!!). We had been giving him 3-5 units of insulin twice a day and were barely keeping it under control. He needs so much less insulin on this food. Its incredible how much a simple dietary change can make. When you consider the serving size compared to other food, one pound of this food lasts us twice as long as our previous kibble. Combined with the fact we need less insulin, this food is definitely saving us money (and saving our cats health!!!). Seriously, this kitty kibble is as close to perfect as you will find. Do yourself (and your cats) a favor and order this stuff right meow.

Tracy Blinov, 12/24/2022


My old cat is a hot mess of diseases (diabetes, kidney failure, liver disease, heart murmer, chronic nasal infection and utis... ). She was staying in the hospital for 4 days at least once a month in some crisis. As a diabetes got to the point of needing treatment, she was very anorexic and we just frankly expected she would die within the next couple months if not weeks. She refuses all of the under 5% carb wet foods - so that recommended diabetes diet is out. This and another brand saved her. At first when I got sample she preferred the other brand. But as she got acclimated to this one this became THE ONE AND ONLY. It is all she'll eat. And she actually comes running when I put fresh food in (even though i free feed!). She's put on the perfect amount of weight, and has a great appetite now even when she's all sniffly and can't smell the food. Her kidney numbers at the vet are much better, and her diabetes numbers are between 100 and 180 at all times. I feel very comfortable with the routine, and it's no longer a 'wait to die' or constant struggle just to keep her alive- she's just living and living well. And so are we!

Kelley, 12/20/2022


We had a 14 year old cat with problematic kidney levels. I did a ton of research for dry foods that would be appropriate (and as any one in this position knows, wet foods are almost entirely recommended for kidney decline, but dry was preferred for our situation). I hated the ingredients of some of the 'vet prescribed' choices. Just terrible. The other challenge for us is that we had a 2 year old 'foster fail' in our lives and so feeding both cats without a lot of specialty procedure was important. I wrote to the company a few times to determine what our options were, and to discuss some of my concerns, especially with regards to the 'dry', and was met with a thoughtful reply from the owner who addressed all my questions. Young Again Zero Mature fit our needs across the board and both cats were very happy with it. A year later, new bloodwork showed remarkable improvement in his kidney function. We couldn't be more pleased. Unfortunately, last year, he suffered an acute, unrelated infection which ultimately put him into kidney failure and we had to say goodbye. As crushing as that has been, we are so relieved to know he had clear evidence of improvement after being on this diet and his last year was in the best health he could be. Seeing his kidney numbers at a much better level a few months before he got sick, gave us a lot of peace of mind that we had cared for him properly, and that the infection was it's own unfortunate event. We have kept our younger cat on this diet and he's doing very well with luscious soft coat to boot. The price isn't much of an issue as compared to other higher quality foods, as we find one bag lasts quite some time and the auto ship is both flexible and convenient. The cherry on top is the customer service, which has been excellent. Give these products a try!

Lauren, 11/22/2022